Insides Coming Out

So, my Tumblr URL is TheFinalPrecipice, and my URL on here is InsidesComingOut. Both are from a song by Switchfoot called “Yet”; here’s a bit of the lyrics:

I’m losing ground and gaining speed
I’ve lost myself or most of me
I’m headed for the final precipice

But you haven’t lost me yet
No, you haven’t lost me yet
I’ll sing until my heart caves in
No, you haven’t lost me yet, yet

This song speaks to me a lot. I’m not lost yet. Even when I keep losing more and more of myself every day, I know that not all hope is lost.

If it doesn’t break your heart, it isn’t love
No, if it doesn’t break your heart, it’s not enough
It’s when you’re breaking down with your insides coming out
That’s when you find out what your heart is made of

The singer, Jon Foreman, said this about the song: “The song is about hope. Hope is always reaching towards the future, reaching for what has not yet come to pass. Once the hope is attained, it can no longer be called hope. Hope isn’t the sort of thing you can pull out of your pocket and show off. Hope is a “holding on” of sorts, an expectant belief, a desire as of yet unfulfilled. I wrote this song from a really dark place, looking for some form of hope. And maybe searching for hope is a form of hope in itself. There’s a moment of honesty when your mask drops, when you can no longer pretend to have it all together. When this pretense is gone you breathe in your first real breath. When you are no longer pretending to be something you’re not, you’re left with a truly honest assessment of the situation. Very little is left, “Faith, hope, and love remain. But the greatest of these is love.”

You should listen to it if you get the chance, or at least look up all of the lyrics. They’re strong and they’re powerful and they mean a lot to me, and that’s why I chose InsidesComingOut for this particular project. I’m coming from that dark place in search of hope and this song is the story of my struggle put into words I could only hope to have someday.

I can’t wait to breathe in my first real breath.

~ by Erica on August 30, 2011.

Leave a Reply!